Awards Committee

About the Committee

The Awards Committee coordinates the distribution of information regarding awards, solicitation of nominations, selection of recipients, and the awards presentations of all IPELRA awards.  This Committee also handles certification and granting of credits for continuing education through MCLE (for attorneys), SHRM and HRCI.

Awards Committee Members

  • Tameika Jones, City of Waukegan, Chairperson
  • Lisa Scheiner, Village of Streamwood, Vice Chairperson


If you would like to nominate your organization or another organization for any of the awards listed below, please follow on the links for each award or contact Chairperson Tameika Jones.

IPELRA James Baird Leadership Award

IPELRA strives to recognize its member organizations for their efforts in championing management rights, innovation, and effective labor relations. The IPELRA James Baird Leadership Award is given to those Illinois public employers who have accomplished one or more significant achievements in this regard, looking back over two years.

Nominations may be made to the Awards Committee by any Illinois educational or government representative, and the recipient of the award is selected and presented by the IPELRA Board of Directors at the Annual Conference. View the award criteria here. Get a Nomination Form (PDF).

NPELRA Pacesetter & Award of Excellence Awards

The Awards Committee also nominates deserving Illinois agencies for NPELRA’s Pacesetter and Award of Excellence awards. Visit the NPELRA website for more information.