Go To Search
Click to Home

View All Posts

Mar 13

Nominations Sought: 2017 James Baird Leadership Award

Posted on March 13, 2018 at 11:11 AM by Paula Freeze


The Awards Committee considers accomplishments of Illinois public sector employers directly related to public sector labor and employee relations over the past two years, which reflect clear managerial leadership in public sector labor relations, e.g., innovative contract language, new and different approaches to labor/management problems, etc.

Do you know of an organization that has excelled within the past two years in demonstrating their managerial leadership in public sector labor relations?
Perhaps, there has been that one organization that has used innovative contract language or created a new and different approach to labor/management problems.

The IPELRA Awards Committee is calling on its members to identify those entities that are changing the game and excelling as leaders with in the public sector. This is where your expertise will play a significant role on acknowledging these entities.

Each year, IPELRA recognizes member achievements in collective bargaining by awarding the James Baird Leadership Award at IPELRA's Annual Conference. For 2017, the Annual Conference will be held in Normal, IL.

IPELRA’s 2016 Leadership Awards recipients were:
City of Springfield – In a 24-month period the City negotiated 20 successor collective bargaining agreements which comprised 80% of the City’s workforce and (1) negotiated new hire wage rates for 800 of its 1200 union positions which reduced rates from 5% to 50%; (2) changed a city ordinance which stopped early vacation payouts which spiked IMRF pensions; (3) Consolidated 4 separate fleet garages with 5 separate unions represented into one fleet garage with one union representation which saved over one million dollars annually and reduced head count without layoffs; and (4) negotiated in 15 of its agreements that new hires must reside within in the City.

Recipients of the IPELRA James Baird Leadership Award are also submitted to our national organization, National PELRA, to be considered for the National PELRA Pacesetter Award.

Nominations may be made by any Illinois government or educational representative closely associated with the accomplishments of the nominee. Please consider nominating your organization or the accomplishments of another!

The Nomination Form is available HERE

The Award Guidelines are available HERE.

Please submit nominations to the IPELRA Awards Committee, c/o ipelra1978@gmail.com by August 18, 2017. Award recipients will be recognized at the 2017 Annual Conference in Normal, IL, October 22 - 25, 2017.

Award recipients will be notified in advance and invited to attend the Awards Luncheon on October 24, 2017 in Normal.